Chakra Balance - Energy Medicine

Updated: Oct 28, 2020

Balance your Chakras.

Chakra in Sanskrit translates as “wheel or disc” and as the phrase, “spinning wheel of energy.” There are seven Chakras and they are located mid-line of the body.  They are responsible for our physical, emotional and spiritual function.  When out of balance, they are known to be inactive, inoperative and not in normal state and will affect our total well-being.  By frequently practicing the following simple Chakra balance exercise, one can bring themselves back to equilibrium.

First, see the list below to learn what each chakra represents and how they affect the body when off balance or inoperable.

First Chakra: Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The Root Chakra represents our foundation. Based at the end of the spine, when open and balanced it helps us feel grounded, stable and confident. It also helps us navigate through challenges with more ease. When it's blocked or off balance, we may feel threatened, fearful and unstable.

Color: Red

Element: Earth

Healing Crystal: Hematite

Mantra: "I am confident and I am at ease with myself."

Hematite Crystal (To purchase click on the images.)

Second Chakra: Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

Located about 2 inches below the navel, and the back side below the lower lumbar.

The Sacral Chakra is associated with the emotional, sexual and creative body energy and total well-being. It's also connected with the relationship with ourselves, others, and the world. When blocked or off balance, we may feel out of control, disconnected, extra tired, the feeling of being stuck, lack of sensual and sexual desires or the extreme opposite.

Color: Orange

Element: Water

Healing Crystal: Tiger's Eye

Mantra: "I always honor others but not before myself."

Tiger's Eye Crystal

Third Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located in the upper abdominal area. It's associated with our self-worth, self-esteem and self-confidence. When open we feel the freedom to express our true selves. When blocked or off balance, our self-confidence and self-esteem is compromised.

Color: Yellow

Element: Fire

Healing Crystal: Amber

Mantra: "I am confident and at ease with myself." or "I accept all that I am."

Amber Crystal

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Motivated by love, the Heart Chakra is associated with compassion, affection, calmness, balance and serenity. Located at the center of your chest. When open we are compassionate and empathetic, and have the ability to receive and give love to ourselves and others. When blocked or off balance, we can't fully trust or open up to others.

Color: Green

Element: Air

Healing Crystal: Rose Quartz

Mantra: "All love resides within me." or "I am open to love."

Rose Quartz Crystal

Fifth Chakra: Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The Throat Chakra is associated with your verbal and non verbal expression of self; our truth, creativity and life purpose. When open, we are able to communicate clearly and express ourselves with truth. When blocked or off balance, we have difficulty communicating clearly and truthfully or expressing ourselves creatively."

Color: Light Blue/Turquoise

Element: Sound/Music

Healing Crystal: Aquamarine

Mantra: "I communicate confidently and with ease" or "I speak clearly and truthfully."

Aquamarine Crystal

Sixth Chakra: Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye is located at the center point slightly above your eyebrows. Connected to wisdom and intuition, the third eye can help us listen and see things clearly. The third eye also allows us to connect with our inner guidance from deep within ourselves, as it gets closer to the communion with the divine.

Color: Dark Blue/Purple

Element: Light

Healing Crystal: Amethyst

Mantra: Om

Amethyst Crystal

Seventh Chakra: Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Located at the very top of the head, the Crown Chakra is the meeting point between the physical body, soul and the divine. When clear you feel deep sense of peace, joy and serenity. You feel fully connected spiritually. And while most don't ever get there, it is the highest goal, to have a full open crown chakra to reach the center of enlightenment.

Color: Violet/White

Element: Divine Consciousness

Healing Crystal: Clear Quartz

Mantra: "I am a vessel for love and light" or "I am a vessel to the most high God."

Clear Quartz Crystal

While there is a more specific way to open and balance chakras, this is a simple and easy exercise to explore them for the first time: Please note, you may use clear white light, or to be more specific, use the colors designated to each chakra in the image above as you practice this exercise. If you wish to use the healing crystals, lie down and place the crystal called to the specific chakra.

Image via Energy Muse

Remember that there is a front – Rajas – and a back – Tamas – to our Chakras.  Sit in a quiet place with eyes closed in a comfortable position. Begin with the Root Chakra – below the spine – and move up towards the Crown – top of head.  Envision a ray of light filling the energy center point or Chakra from front to back, all around and back to center. Then as the chakra turns clockwise, allow it to fill itself with the beautiful light that shows up for you.  With focus and awareness gradually move the light upward into the next Chakra until the light is evenly glowing throughout all the Chakras.  Don't be afraid to allow that same light to fill up your entire body. Envision your body completely illuminated with light. When you're body is ready, it will let you know it's completed it's cycle. Thank yourself and the universal energy for allowing you to balance and open your chakras.

If you wish to have a deeper Chakra Balancing session or for some virtual personal instruction, you may contact me at

Subscribe to my website to stay updated on more about Chakras and Energy Healing.

Thanks for stopping by! Always sending you lots of love and light,

xo Maritza

Amazon Associate: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Thank you for your support.

Recent Posts

See All

Let's stay connected


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Amazon Associate: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

© 2020 LiYa Life co.  All rights reserved.